From black to red, from red to blue,
oh, how effortlessly you don each hue
in the face of darkness and light aside,
through each dawn and unforgiving night,
never letting your faith be anything but true!
From blue to yellow, from yellow to black,
I saw you weep as you turned back
to look at me whilst I looked at you,
whispering words of deep solace
in the embrace of absolute silence:
What a surprise it was to behold
your aura adorned with a fiery gold
when all I had been seeing was black,
when my eyes seemed to have lost the knack
to seek hope amidst an irreparable crack,
when even verses could not drown
the anguish churning in my spirit,
when even solitude could not slay
the demons determined to hold me down;
We have been friends for far too long
for me to still discover shades so new
in your visage, hidden in the village
of the clouds that call you home,
the night that listens to each song
that you compose with all your heart,
the wind you cradle in your expanse,
the dawn you nurture with great expense,
yet to your versatility, there seems no end
as you shine beyond the reach of any lens,
as you revel with equal ablomb in
yellow, red, blue, black – the entire spectrum
being your ceaseless sea, your finite fence;
I have always been awed by the sight
of you carrying countless stars with a smile –
an infinite black specked with flickers
of white, but I must confess, old friend,
that the way the soft blue of the morn
seamlessly glues all that has been torn
is a phenomenon whose warmth is a virtue
only a few can hope to comprehend,
yet a force so magical no one can pretend
to be indifferent to its soothing view;
From blue to yellow, from yellow to black,
from black to red, from red to blue,
oh, how selflessly you mask each sigh
in the wake of bliss and grief aside,
through scarce peace and many a fight,
always keeping your head held high:
I bow my head in gratitude for every view,
for every hue you share with us, beloved sky!

Leave a comment